Sydney, AUSTRALIA (March 3, 2017) – Barring intermittent weather delays, the 2017 Vans Park Series Pro Tour Global Qualifiers kicked off a high-energy showcase by the world’s most talented park terrain skateboarders. 17-year old contest veteran Tom Schaar led the qualifiers round, demonstrating laser-focused consistency to earn a 90-point best run score. Top performances also spotlighted event wildcard Clay Kreiner, 2nd, and Brazilian Murilo Peres, 3rd, both of whom dominated the custom-designed park terrain course with aggressive power, speed and creativity. The top six Challengers from the qualifiers round will now advance to the Semis, joining 14 confirmed VPS Select Pros for the final heats of competition tomorrowMarch 4.

VPS Sydney Global Qualifier – Challengers Advancing to Semi-Finals

  1. Tom Schaar
  2. Clay Kreiner
  3. Murilo Peres
  4. Tristan Rennie
  5. Roman Pabich
  6. Willy Lara

VPS Select Pros – Pre-seeded to Semi-Finals

  1. Alex Sorgente
  2. Pedro Barros
  3. Ivan Federico
  4. Cory Juneau
  5. Ben Hatchell
  6. Kevin Kowalski
  7. Grant Taylor
  8. Jack Fardell
  9. Curren Caples
  10. Greyson Fletcher
  11. Oskar Rozenberg
  12. Chris Russell
  13. Ronnie Sandoval
  14. Raven Tershy

Vans Park Series Sydney Schedule

Saturday, March 4 - VPS Men’s Pro Tour Men’s Finals
+ VPS Oceania Continental Men’s Championships


GLOBAL WEBCAST TIMES

Sydney – Saturday, March 4 @ 11AM
Los Angeles – Friday, March 3 @ 4PM
New York – Friday, March 3 @ 7PM
Sao Paulo – Friday, March 3 @ 9PM
London – Saturday, March 4 @ 12AM

Men's Qualifiers
Skater Top Run
1st Tom Schaar
90.00
2nd Clay Kreiner
85.26
3rd Murilo Peres
83.58
4th Tristan Rennie
82.78
5th Roman Pabich
82.41
6th Willy Lara
80.66
7th Karl Berglind
78.64
8th Vinicius Kakinho
77.18
9th Collin Graham
76.81
10th Vincent Matheron
75.58
11th Keegan Palmer
75.40
12th Raney Beres
74.07
12th CJ Collins
74.07
14th Trey Wood
70.56
15th Bowman Hansen
69.50
16th Zion Wright
66.99
17th Patrick Ryan
62.95
18th Robin Bolian
60.31
19th Josh Borden
51.00
20th Daan Van Der Linden
25.93

Vans Park Series, the definitive World Championship park terrain skateboarding competition series for men and women, kicks off the 2017 VPS Men’s Pro Tour this weekend, welcoming the world’s most elite professional park terrain skateboarders to Sydney, Australia as part of the celebrated Australian Open of Surfing festival.

Situated in the scenic locale of Manly Beach, the custom-designed VPS park course is built directly on the sand, highlighting infinite opportunities for speed, air and style. The course terrain features a unique deep end equipped with pool coping, a gigantic hipped layback bank, a spine on top of the deck with a raw concrete curb on top of it, a huge 10.5’ tall extension, and an abundance of hips and transfers.