VPS Men’s Pro Tour and Women’s Pro Tour Qualifiers Commence on Friday

2018 VPS Europa Continental Champions Simon Karlsson and Amelia Brodka Advance to 2018 VPS World Championships in China this October 

WATCH LIVE BROADCAST ON VANSPARKSERIES.COM

Sweden – Saturday, September 8, 12PM GMT+2
Hong Kong – Saturday, September 8, 6PM HKT
Sydney – Saturday, September 8, 8PM AEST
New York – Saturday, September 8, 6AM EDT
Los Angeles – Saturday, September 8, 3AM PDT
Sao Paulo — Saturday, September 8, 7AM GMT-3


Sweden’s own Simon Karlsson  Photo: Anthony Acosta</span>

Sweden’s own Simon Karlsson Anthony Acosta

Malmö, SWEDEN (September 7, 2018) – The 2018 Vans Park Series Europa Continental Championships kicked off a fierce competition of regional talent in Malmö, Sweden, welcoming more than 75 competitors in total from the men and women divisions to compete at the historic first-ever VPS-certified Kroksbäck Skatepark. Transcending the competition and reaping the glory for their respective countries, Simon Karlsson (SWE) and Amelia Brodka (POL) won the Europa Continental Championships, securing their invites to the VPS World Championships in China.

1st - Simon Karlsson, 2nd - Herman Moller, 3rd - Sam Beckett   Photo: Dan Mathieu</span>

1st - Simon Karlsson, 2nd - Herman Moller, 3rd - Sam Beckett Dan Mathieu

Sweden’s own Simon Karlsson impressed the judges with a clean kickflip wallride on the tombstone to take first place, while Amelia Brodka defended her Continental Championship title after winning in 2017, and accomplished a well-deserved back-to-back win thanks to her strong combinations of frontside airs and ollie smiths on the big bank. The 2018 Europa Continental Champions will be pre-seeded directly into the World Championships lineup, joining Select Pros and advancing Tour Challengers for the final gauntlet in China this October.

Up next this weekend, the 2018 VPS Pro Tour for men and women continues with the final qualification rounds for VPS challengers to best their rankings from the overall tour and claim their coveted spot in the World Championships race. With only a handful of spots left for the taking, United States’ Roman Pabich and Japan’s Sakura Yosozumi are in the lead based on current VPS Challenger rankings, and will definitely be the ones to watch for the remainder of the series.

Schedule: Malmö | 2018 Men's World Pro Tour

In its third consecutive year featured on the Vans Park Series Pro tour, the custom VPS- certified Kroksbäck Skatepark’s exemplary design will test the top-ranking pros and challengers to be fast and creative, with judges focusing on speed, flow and amplitude throughout the course. With a plethora of hips, grinds, walls, a huge center island, and a monster bank, the pros are slated to land another incredible show of park terrain skating for all fans across the globe to witness.

ABOUT ETN

ETN is a digital network created by skateboarders that provides members with a one-of-a-kind experience into the world of skateboarding through unique original shows and live events. As the official live broadcast partner of skateboarding’s premiere contest series, SLS & Vans Park Series, the network continues to pioneer a growing platform for the world’s best skateboarders, while shining a light on the unpredictable, raw, culture of skateboarding. Download the ETN app now or visit ETNlive.com for more information.

ABOUT VANS PARK SERIES

The 2018 Vans Park Series Pro Tour is the premier series for professional park terrain skateboarders consisting of four men’s global qualifiers and three women’s global qualifiers spanning five countries over six months and culminating with the official Vans Park Series World Championships. Showcasing an international roster of skateboarding’s elite pros and a total series purse in excess of $700,000(USD), the Vans Park Series uniquely defines the park terrain format with its exclusive points system, judging guidelines and qualifying park terrain course criteria. Additional information and live webcast details will be available on the official Vans Park Series iOS app and online.

Follow the Vans Park Series on social media or sign up online now for the latest information on Vans Park Series event details, elite pros, official sanctions and competition formats.

@vansparkseries on InstagramYouTubeFacebookTwitter